College of Visual and Performing Arts
George Mason University
George Mason University Mason
George Mason University


National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine

Presented ByGreat Performances at Mason
When/WhereSaturday, Feb 22, 2020 8:00pmCenter for the Arts, Concert Hall, Fairfax Campus

Buy Tickets  Subscribe and Save

Volodymyr Sirenko, conductor
Natalia Khoma, cello

Schubert: Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D. 759 “Unfinished”
Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme, for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 33
Yevhen Stankovych: Novella
Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90  

Celebrating their Jubilee 100th concert season, the National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine (NSOU) presents a concert of orchestral masterworks and Eastern European delights, including a showpiece for cello by Tchaikovsky, Schubert’s beloved “Unfinished” Symphony, the triumphant sounds of Sibelius’ third symphony, and a work by Ukrainian composer Yevhen Stankovych. Considered one of the finest symphony orchestras in Eastern Europe, NSOU has achieved international recognition with its extensive touring schedule and more than 100 acclaimed recordings. Under the direction of Volodymyr Sirenko, the orchestra is joined by world-renowned cellist Natalia Khoma, known for her “soaring, penetrating sound” (State News) as the featured soloist. “This is an orchestra with many virtues. Its strings can conjure up a vibrant songfulness; the woodwinds have a fruity, penetrating ripeness; the brass could endanger the walls of Jericho; the percussion might wake the dead...” (The Sydney Morning Herald).

Tickets: $60, $51, $36

A pre-performance discussion with NSOU conducter, Volodymyr Sirenko, begins 45 minutes prior to the performance, located on Monson Grand Tier. Seating is limited and opens 15 minutes before the pre-performance discussion.

Free student tickets are available two weeks prior to this event.