As of May 2, 2022, if face coverings, proof of vaccination, or a negative Covid-19 test result is required for a specific event, it will be indicated on the webpage with event details. Learn more.

Buy Tickets  Subscribe

Five-time GRAMMY Award-winning bassist and composer Edgar Meyer joins the acclaimed Glasgow-based Scottish Ensemble for a unique program that spans the ages from the Baroque to the present day. The concert features works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Gustav Holst, Ralph Vaughan Williams, and Edgar Meyer, including a new commission performed by Meyer. A musical innovator, Meyer is credited with relocating the bass from the back of the orchestra to the front, making it the musical centerpiece in his reimagined and original compositions. Hailed by The New Yorker as “…the most remarkable virtuoso in the relatively un-chronicled history of his instrument,” he is a frequent collaborator with Yo-Yo Ma, Joshua Bell, and Chris Thile. Under the direction of Jonathan Morton, Scottish Ensemble formed in 1969 to transform the perceptions and experience of classical music. Today, the ensemble continues to enthrall by expanding string repertoire and blending music that spans different centuries, musical periods, genres, and styles. The Scotsman praised a performance as [a]n inspirational evening, full of wonder.”


Holst: St Paul’s Suite
J. MacMillan: Memento
E. Meyer: String Quintet, Mvt 1
J.S. Bach: Sonata for Viola da Gamba in G major, BWV 1027 
C. Shaw: Punctum
R. Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
This program also includes a new work by Edgar Meyer.

$50, $43, $30, half-price for youth through Grade 12

Before the Performance
A pre-performance discussion with Edgar Meyer and Scottish Ensemble Artistic Director Jonathan Morton will take place in Monson Grand Tier, which is located on the third level of the Center for the Arts Lobby, 45 minutes prior to curtain.

Free Tickets for Mason Students
A limited quantity of free student tickets will be available two Tuesdays prior to the event. Learn more.