Beginning October 18, 2021, proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test result is required for all audience members. Details here.

Buy Tickets

Christopher Zimmerman, conductor with The Fairfax Choral Society, Thomas Colohan, artistic director and Choralis, Gretchen Kuhrmann, artistic director

Leshnoff: Symphony No. 4 “Heichalos” (Regional Premiere)
Beethoven: Symphony No. 9

Distinguished as “a leader of contemporary American lyricism” (The New York Times), composer Jonathan Leshnoff is renowned for his music’s striking harmonies, powerful themes, and rhythmic drive.  In this piece, the composer draws inspiration from an ancient Jewish mystical text, Heichalos, to explore spiritual and ethical questions at the heart of the Jewish experience.

Leshnoff’s Symphony No. 4 is an evocative work written for the Violins of Hope, a collection of restored instruments that survived the Holocaust.

More than 100 singers of the Fairfax Choral Society and Choralis join the FSO on stage in a performance of Beethoven’s magnificent Ninth Symphony.  Beethoven wrote his Symphony No. 9 in an epic struggle between despair and transcendence to reach new heights with the words “all men become brothers.” His glorious final symphony celebrates the bonds that unite humankind and has been described as his “great vision of the future.” Experience this glorious season finale with a composition regarded by many not only as Beethoven’s greatest work, but as one of the greatest achievements in the history of music!

Student Tickets: $15

For information about the Fairfax Symphony Orchestra, please visit

Before the Performance
A pre-performance discussion will take place in the Concert Hall one hour prior to the performance with Maestro Christopher Zimmerman and special guests.