As of May 2, 2022, if face coverings, proof of vaccination, or a negative Covid-19 test result is required for a specific event, it will be indicated on the webpage with event details. Learn more.


George Li, piano
Christopher Zimmerman, music director and conductor

Elgar: Pomp and Circumstance, March No. 1
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2
Elgar: Symphony No. 1

The Center for the Arts is proud to co-present a soaring classical music program by the Fairfax Symphony Orchestra, featuring George Li performing Rachmaninoff’s immortal Piano Concerto No. 2. Praised by The Washington Post for combining “staggering technical prowess, a sense of command, and depth of expression,” Li possesses brilliant virtuosity and effortless grace far beyond his years. He won the Silver Medal at the 2015 International Tchaikovsky Competition when he was 19 and was named the recipient of the 2016 Avery Fisher Career Grant. Li’s performances of Rachmaninoff are acclaimed for their “sheer precision” and “sense of discovery, as if the music was quite new” (Bachtrack). Music Director Christopher Zimmerman and the FSO bookend the evening with a pair of Sir Edward Elgar’s rousing masterpieces, graduation staple Pomp and Circumstance, March No. 1 and the passion-filled Symphony No. 1. Don’t miss this inspirational program from one of the premier regional orchestras in the country, which The Washington Post calls “a crown jewel of the cultural landscape.”

Prices: $65, $55, $40, half-price for youth through Grade 12

Run Time: 108 minutes

Performance Program
The program for this performance will be available the week of the event. View or download digital program.

Before the Performance
A pre-performance discussion will take place in Monson Grand Tier, which is located on the third level of the Center for the Arts Lobby, 45 minutes prior to curtain.

Free Tickets for Mason Students
A limited quantity of free student tickets will be available for each event. Learn more.